teacherwifemother

Tales of a mama of 3 boys, wife, and middle school Science teacher.

9 months August 5, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — teacherwifemother @ 8:18 am

It seems as if the 9 month mark for Spencer has become a turning point in his life and in ours. He is doing all kinds of things these days and is growing so fast! We went for his 9 month check up and Β he weighs almost 21 pounds now and is 29 1/4 inches long! No wonder he is getting heavy to tote in his carrier. The last few times I have left his carrier in the car and carried him. The only thing with that is……he CRAWLS now!! So for the longest time he would do this inch worm crawl all across the living room floor. He would rock back and forth and belly flop and then get back up and rock and belly flop. He would do this and get around quite nicely. Then he progressed to rocking and moving his hands a couple of times and then belly flop. He was getting there. Finally while we were on vacation at my mom’s house in Florida, he crawled to me to get his toy. So now that we are back home, he is crawling all over the house. He follows me wherever I go and pulls on my skirt tail. So now we must keep an eye on him constantly. He likes cords….electrical cords. We have already had to say “NO!” to him and he is learning….not quickly I might add…he likes to keep trying to test the boundaries. So our fun begins! πŸ™‚ Well as soon as he has learned to crawl, he is now pulling himself up in his crib and standing up! What?? Oh my goodness boy, slow down! We had to lower the crib and so now his eyes are even with the top bar and he cruises around his bed and falls and hits his head against the railing. Poor baby. 😦

We have moved on to Stage 3 foods. He’s not too fond of some of these exotic flavors or the textures that they have. He likes to clap his hands at just the right moment when I am moving the spoon closer to him so that the food goes all over me and him. Silly boy! He is now a super messy eater! I must invest in the bigger plastic covered bibs. There is a shopping trip in my future for all of the new items I must get for him. He is also feeding himself the little puffy baby food snacks. He loves to grab them all up with both of his hands and then try to get it all in his mouth. He will have some in his mouth and some in each hand.

I have tried a sippy cup with him before and all he does is gnaw on the nipple. I decided to wait until he was good and hungry for his formula and then try it. So yesterday he drank his milk all day using the sippy cup! No bottle at all yesterday! Woohoo! I am not sure if he is crazy about any other drink in the sippy, but he wants his milk that is for sure. It could be that he only likes this one particular sippy cup. I don’t know. I will keep trying.

So as you can see this month is full of milestones for us. He is so much fun and a joy to our lives. πŸ™‚ School will be starting soon and then I will have to say good bye to him each morning. 😦 But I will look forward to the fun we will have when we see each other at the end of the day. πŸ™‚ I will leave you with a few pictures of his new discoveries. I’ll blog about our vacation trip to Florida next time. πŸ™‚

Β  Time to lower the crib!

Feeding himself yogurt puffs.

See both hands are full!

Drinking his milk all by himself!

 

 

Leave a comment