teacherwifemother

Tales of a mama of 3 boys, wife, and middle school Science teacher.

Spring Break Sewing March 30, 2013

Filed under: Baby,Sewing Projects — teacherwifemother @ 8:21 am
Tags: , , , ,

Spring Break has come and gone and I have been back to the grind. No time to post just time to sleep these days.

I wanted to post about the baby bibs I sewed while on Spring Break. I am a newbie when it comes to sewing, but thanks to my encouraging friends I am slowly learning and loving every minute of it. I was so happy to make my baby some bibs and burp cloths. I have a friend who has a little girl that is 2 months older than Spencer so I made her some too. I told my friend that since I don’t have a girl then I will just sewing pretty girl things for her baby girl. πŸ™‚ I need to sew something for her older daughter because I don’t want her to feel left out. I think I am going to recycle my boys’ torn up jeans into a jean skirt for her oldest. That will be a project soon. πŸ™‚ I will use my friend Michelle’s blog tutorial on www.letitshineblog.com. πŸ™‚

Now back to my bibs. I went to WalMart and picked up some flannel fat quarters. I used this patternΒ found on pinterest. I did not follow the tutorial exactly, but I did use the pattern. For the backing I used a t-shirt. I found a cheap clearanced white shirt at WalMart and cut it up for the backing, but then I found some old shirts of mine and recycled or upcycled them. πŸ™‚ For the burp cloths, I just cut out rectangles and sewed the jersey on the back of the flannel and Wa-Lah we have burp cloths. πŸ™‚ During the week, I made 5 bibs and 5 burp cloths for Spencer and 5 bibs and 5 burp cloths for McKenna. πŸ™‚ I mailed hers off on Saturday and by Monday her mom texted me a pic of McKenna in her bib with a great big smile of thanks. πŸ™‚ I love it! I bought 2 sets of fat quarters for about 8 bucks each and I made 10 bibs and 10 burp cloths. Pretty thrifty if Β you ask me. πŸ™‚ I was pleased with myself. I want to thank my encouraging friends for allowing me to blow up their phone with text messages and pictures. πŸ™‚ I love them!

Here are the pictures of the bibs and matching burp cloths.

 

McKenna's Bibs and Burp Cloths

McKenna’s Bibs and Burp Cloths

 

 

Spencer's Bibs and Burp Cloths

Spencer’s Bibs and Burp Cloths

 

Leave a Reply

